Beet & Avocado Salad with Fresh Mozzarella and Fennel

I’ve never said no to a beet.  Others might bemoan their steady appearance over the long months as winter stretches into spring, but I never tire of their sweet, earthy flavor and gorgeous garnet hue.

Beet & Avocado Salad with Fresh Mozzarella and Fennel

1 bunch of beets, tops cut off and saved for another purpose

1 bulb fennel

1 avocado

4-6 oz. fresh mozzarella

1 meyer lemon

olive oil

coarse sea salt (my favorite is Malson)

best-quality balsamic vinegar

small handful chervil, leaves picked

freshly ground pepper

Preheat oven to 350.  Place beets in small roasting pan, add 1″ of water and cover tightly with foil.  Roast until just tender.  Meanwhile, cut tops off fennel, cut in half lengthwise, cut out core and cut into paper thin slivers.  Place in a small bowl, squeeze half of Meyer lemon over, drizzle with a tablespoon or two of olive oil and sprinkle with sea salt.  Set aside.  Cut mozzarella into thin slices and set aside.  Halve and pit avocado.  Cut into slices, place in a bowl and squeeze the other half of the lemon over.  When beets are done and cool enough to handle, slip skins off and cut into wedges.  On a serving tray, make alternating layers of beet, avocado, fennel, and mozzarella.  Drizzle with balsamic vinegar, sprinkle with salt and freshly ground pepper and scatter chervil sprigs on top.

Many thanks to viewers like you for inviting farmhouse into their beautiful kitchen!

16 Responses to “Beet & Avocado Salad with Fresh Mozzarella and Fennel”

  1. Polly Husted

    I’ve always steamed well-scrubbed quartered beets, and served them skins and all; how long do you roast them? I’ve yet to meet a beet I didn’t like.

    Reply
    • farmhousetable

      It depends on the size, but usually about 30 minutes. I usually test them for doneness starting after 20 minutes, because I like them pretty firm.

      Reply
  2. Julie

    Beautiful food. Beautiful photography. Oh, how I wish I lived in Austin! Wishing you much SUCCESS with your business. The world needs more people like you.

    Reply
  3. Seth Cochran

    I don’t like beets or fennel, but my girlfriend loves both and when I came across this recipe while deleting old emails, I knew I had to try it. FANTASTIC. I (from Austin) loved it, my girlfriend (from Siciliy) loved it and our friend (from China) adored it. It was a real hit in the with an international crowd here in London! We love your blog!!

    Reply
    • farmhousetable

      I love that! Thank you so much–love the idea of my recipes being so well-traveled.

      Reply
  4. Bauke

    Love the way you write, make photos an cook! Delicious! Cant wait for saturday to try this beautiful dish with family and friends!

    Reply
    • farmhousetable

      awww thanks! stay tuned for lots more new content soon, exciting stuff in the works.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

